liebster award and 30 days

Today is 30 days without a drink. I have tried not to focus so much on counting days but this is a milestone! This is the longest I have gone without a drink since I started this journey back in February. It has taken me a while to get here. But it takes what it takes. And I couldn’t be happier to be here! I feel good.I feel excited about life again.

Thank you to all you fine, fine people out there who have inspired and supported me along the way. Big love to you all!

The awesome Court_Knee @ http://youngdrunk.wordpress.com nominated me for a Liebster Award. I don’t really know what it is but I like questions so here it goes… I’m supposed to post 11 facts about myself, answer 11 questions from my nominator, and then nominate 11 other blogs with under 200 followers, and ask them 11 questions.

11 facts about myself

1. I love pickle and peanut butter sandwiches! Try it, it’s so yummy.

2. I am never without at least 3-4 pieces of silver jewellery on. Never gold.

3. I lived in a tent on a tropical beach for 2 months once.

4. One thing I am good at is drawing designs, lettering and fonts.

5. I am afraid of heights.

6. I don’t know how to whistle.

7. I am a huge cat lover but I am allergic to them now so I am thinking seriously about getting a dog.

8. I used to be a sprinter and actually won a lot of sport awards, when I was younger.

9. I feel my best when I am in the woods.

10. My favourite food is Japanese- in particular spicy tuna sashimi. And anything with miso or ponzu sauce.

11. I absolutely love the idea home grown food, but I am a disaster when it comes to gardening! I have black thumbs!

If you could change one thing about your country what would it be?

Good lord, where do I start?? Our relationship with First Nations people, most of all. People in this country think of Canada as this great “peaceful” nation, yet we have the darkest past. Our government, in cooperation with churches, stole Indigenous children from their families and tribes and put them into residential schools where they were taught their culture was savage and inferior. Much abuse happened. Treaties were not honoured, land was stolen, people were killed. It is disgraceful. And the version of history we teach in schools does not tell the whole story- so there is so much racism today.

And don’t get me started on our current government… our Prime Minister is a disaster. Does not care about women, children or the environment. It is shameful to be a Canadian today.

What is the thing that makes you unbelievably proud of your country?

In light of our past and our current government, it is tough to think of something. More than our country as a whole, I am proud of some things and people that come out of it. Greenpeace originated in Canada, that’s pretty neat. David Suzuki is another great Canadian. Naomi Klein too.

* edit- I am also proud that my country legalized gay marriage 10 years ago. That is something to celebrate!

Do you remember your dreams? If so, what was the last one to affect you?

Yes I remember them a lot. I tend to dream a lot about people and things in my past. I had a dream two nights ago that I had started smoking again and was trying to quit but was just realizing that I was hooked. That was yucky.

If the blogging genie came to you and offered you three blogging related wishes what would they be?

I don’t know if I can come up with three. Probably I would wish that I felt inspired to write more than I actually do. I go through periods of time when I just don’t feel like posting.

If you had an opportunity to explore an undiscovered area in outer space or on earth which would you choose?

I would love to know if there was other intelligent life forms out there in other galaxies!

Why did you start blogging? 

I’ve always liked to write as a way to express myself. I’ve kept journals on and off since I was 8 years old. But seeing as I can type faster than I can write, blogging seemed like a logical evolution. Also, to write down what has been going around and around in my head. I think somehow it’s been helping me get into action mode. Finally, I guess I hope that others will see themselves in my writing. To connect with others across time and space who relate to me and I to them. Because I don’t have people in my life who understand what I am going through.

What is your one, ultimate, life-long dream?

Hard to pick one! I’ve always just wanted to experience as much as possible in this lifetime. Travelling to as many places as possible is high on my list of priorities.

If you had to give up your other achievements to accomplish that dream, would you? 

Travelling is important to me but being happy in the day in day out is important too. I don’t think I would give up everyday happiness for travelling. And I find everyday happiness in my family, friends, work, and being in nature. It’s about balance to me.

Do you believe in ghosts? Or aliens?

Ghosts… not so much. I’m more of a reincarnation gal. Aliens… well, I’m open to the possibility. I think that there must be other intelligent life forms out there somewhere… but whether or not they travel or come to earth is where I’m not so sure.

What religion intrigues you the most? ( It doesn’t have to be your own religion or you don’t have to be religious. Just one that interests you – good or bad)

All religions intrigue me, but I have to say that Buddhism is the one that interests me the most. I love studying it. I love meditation, and I enjoy the psychology of the 4 noble truths. It’s the religion that makes the most sense to me, I suppose.

It says we are supposed to nominate 11 others but that’s a lot!

So, I’d like to nominate just a few that I’ve been enjoying lately. Same questions 🙂

http://ainsobriety.wordpress.com

http://mallards4us.wordpress.com

http://howtovomitpolitely.wordpress.com

8 thoughts on “liebster award and 30 days

  1. Congrats on 30 days and your award!

    (I didn’t know you were Canadian too! Yes, Harper needs to go…he’s one of the worst we’ve ever had…stealth dude, no personality and a covert dictator)

    Anyway, great work!

    Paul, from Toronto

    • Hey Paul, thanks so much for the congrats! I have gleaned a lot from you so thank you very much for that too 🙂
      Yep, I am Canadian, other side of the country though. And I completely agree with you about Harper- he has GOT to go. I don’t understand how he is still the PM!! Scary stuff.
      Take care and thanks again!

  2. congratulations on your 30 days! that is such a huge achievement, because you are getting through the time when the drinking urges and voices are strongest and loudest. every day that goes by from now on they will continue to reduce until they become the merest and most occasional of twinges…

    here’s a question for you – if 10 was your urge to drink on day 1, what would you say your rating is now? and answer me that question again when you have 60 days, yes?! xx

    • Thank you my friend. I am happy. I know it won’t be all rainbows and puppies from here but I do agree the first 30 are HARD.
      It’s hard to rate my urge to drink on a Monday morning accurately- it’s a 0-1 right now, but I think the last few evenings (weekend) I would have to say the urge is about a 3-4. I’ve been lucky – I was out with friends on Saturday night and most weren’t drinking (for various reasons) so that was a lot easier. And my husband will only drink a beer or two around me (I have never liked beer so it’snot a trigger for me), so that is helping.
      I’ll keep monitoring it and keep you posted 🙂
      Thanks for everything!

Leave a Reply

